Motocross in Namibia (and yet still no broken bones)

This weekend was…. Painful, to say the least.

As per schedule on Saturday I went to practice to get a few hours of riding in. All went relatively well, besides the track being in probably the worse condition I’ve ever seen. I was about to call it a day since up to that point I already had a few close calls.

Looking back now, deciding to do one more lap and then head off was probably the worse decision I could have made. As I was aprouching the very last turn of the very last lap, I had to jump over a small yet badly worn out jump. As soon as I hit the take off all went sideways, literally, the bike was thrown sideways and as soon as it happened I knew, BRACE FOR IMPACT!

It felt like an eternity soaring through the air and when I hit the ground it all sped up and was over in what felt like a split second. There I lay, flat on my back, having knocked the wind out of myself with the tip of the handelbars. Searching for air, but every breath came to short and to painful. The next thing I noticed was the throbbing pain in my right arm and not being able to move it, I thought to myself “well I guess that arm’s broken”.

In the distance I could faintly hear footsteps and voices approaching, all the while I am still trying to breath. The fellow riders finally reached me, some of them hovered over me asking if I was alright as others picked up the bike.

After quite a while I managed to stand up and was relieved to discover that luckely my arm was not broken, just very badly bruised and bleeding like crazy. I limped back to the car where we luckily always keep a First Aid and started cleaning and bandaging the worst wounds.

Luckily most if the damage was external, so scrapes and bruises but fortunately still no broken bones. The bike also took quite a punch, twisting the front shocks, breaking the handelbars almost clean off, losing the front brake leaver as well as the front disk brake and scratching the plastics to pieces.

The day was obviously not one of the best days ever, but look on the bright side, it could have been way worse.


Author: MyMotocrossBlog

I am a Namibian Motocross rider. I do not do it as a job, but as a hobby I hold very close to heart rather.

2 thoughts on “Motocross in Namibia (and yet still no broken bones)”

  1. Glad you made it. I dumped my bike yesterday for the 1st time in 4 months…kind funny happened slow on a steel plate jump because the bike stalled and it was more like a trials situation only a few feet of room to straighten the bike and gas it to hop the ramp.

    Like

Leave a Reply

